Beer from Here: Foothills Brewing – Hopjob Session IPA

IMG_3746

Hopjob Session IPA by Foothills Brewing joins the industry’s growing trend of session India Pale Ales.

Session IPAs. It’s what’s trendy these days and it makes sense. Americans love their hops. Nearly twenty-five percent of all craft beer sales are IPAs. Think about that for a second. As much as we enjoy day drinking, some rather not imbibe two or more, seven percent hop bombs at 3:00 on a Saturday afternoon. But maybe I’m the minority. As craft beer enthusiasts spoke up, the makers of these fine libations listened and started concocting session elixirs similar to their hop busters, but with an ABV at 5 percent or less. While the style is less bitter than its big IPA brother/sister, the hop flavor can still smack you in the mouth. Case in point… Hopjob Session IPA.

When I think of Foothills Brewing, I think of Sexual Chocolate. Oh my. But the Winston-Salem brewery has so much more to offer, including the popular Hoppyum IPA, Torch Pilsner, Jade IPA and People’s Porter. The award-winning brewery has quickly grown into a personal favorite, and one of the strongest in the state. We’re very lucky.

As May rolled in, Hopjob Session IPA caught my eye. I thought it would be the perfect beer to explore with Memorial Day around the corner. The session IPA is the brewery’s first stab at the category. It poured a golden, effervescent orange. The color caught me slightly off-guard as most IPAs of this caliber tend to be a lighter golden/yellow. I was intrigued. A spongy head ascended in the Spiegelau glass and I captured scents of grapefruit, lemon, grass, flowers, and pepper on the nose.

My palette hit a wall of hops and my taste buds died and went to heaven. Notes of citrus and juicy fruit from the Azacca hops brimmed to the top. A touch of spice from the Sorachi hops added a nice peppery-finish. I had a tough time detecting the malt backbone, but perhaps I was too preoccupied enjoying one of my favorite new hop combinations. I see a homebrew experiment in my future.

At 4.9%, the IPA went down very easy and I was impressed with the flavor profile, light body and dry finish. To say it was refreshing is an understatement. This brew stacks up well against the heavy hitters of the category and I strongly believe Foothills has another winner on its hands. Do yourself a solid and pick up a six-pack for the holiday weekend. And if you ever get a chance to swing by the brewery or pub, do so. Earlier this month Foothills opened a new production facility and tasting room with 28 taps. This year also happens to be their 10th anniversary.

Hopjob and other Foothills beers can be found in bars, restaurants, grocery stores, and specialty stores across North Carolina, South Carolina, Northern Virginia and Washington, D.C.

Brewery: Foothills Brewing
City: Winston-Salem, NC
Style: American IPA
ABV: 4.9%
Availability: Seasonal, 12 oz. bottles and draft

