A Solid First Draft (Line)

Last week, Draft Line Brewing Company opened its doors to the Triangle’s craft beer scene and there was no shortage of fans. According to the brewery, more than 2,400 visitors stopped by and consumed over 4,500 pints of beer. That’s almost 38 kegs of the good stuff. Wow.

We had a few friends in town for the weekend and wanted to give them a look into North Carolina craft beer scene. We made the trek to Fuquay-Varina and showed up a little after 4:00. I was blown away by how many people were in attendance. The grand opening was well organized. We got our wristbands then proceeded to buy a few tickets ($5 each) to purchase a beer. People were outside playing cornhole, eating hotdogs, and trying to stay cool in the shade. Inside, the beer was flowing. The brewery has some serious space too, so I imagine an increase in production or bottling/canning may be in the future.

DraftLine

A great turnout at Draft Line’s grand opening

I was surprised to see six beers on tap after looking at a handy menu with descriptions (great idea for new breweries). The line-up boasted an IPA, porter, scotch ale, wheat ale, pale ale, and pilsner. I personally tried the IPA (surprise, surprise) and scotch ale. The hoppy flavors and aromas of the IPA were impressive and the “wee heavy” was very good in its own right. I wanted to try the porter, but only one batch was brewed on the pilot system, so the supply kicked quickly. I guess porters are in demand. Maybe next time.

I also had a taste of the pale ale which incorporates Australian and New Zealand hops. It was something outside my flavor profile considering how much I enjoy American IPAs and pale ales. I like the flavors and aromas of North American hops a lot more than our southern hemisphere counterparts. But the pale is different and I think that’s what the brewers were aiming for. I’m curious to hear what others think about the beer. I’ve tried no other like it.

All and all, another great time with friends and NC craft beer. If you’re in the Fuquay/Holly Spring area, give Draft Line a try. I can’t wait to go back.

Draft Line Brewing Company 341 Broad St., Suite 151 Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526

http://www.draftlinebrewing.com/

